About Mary Jose

Mary Jose is a British artist who lives and works in the south of France. She developed a true passion for painting when, living in Singapore in the seventies, she had the good luck to study Chinese brush painting with the master Chen Wen Hsi. She left the Far East with an intense desire to paint, but the Oriental style quickly evolved into the Western style of figurative watercolour in order to respond to the landscape and life of the eight countries in which she subsequently lived.

Rising Gold Oil on Canvas 100 x 100 cm

Crosscurrents IV 30 x 30 cm.

It was not until she and her husband had settled in France that she realised a long-held desire to paint in oils.

Without any conscious decision on her part, she found that she was painting large abstract oils. More recently, this experience in oil painting has brought a new energy to her watercolours through abstraction.

Today, all these influences are expressed in both her watercolours and oils: the Chinese philosophy of painting, the revelatory effect of light, the harmony of Nature, the successive layers that compose our lives and the interdependence of everything.

Individual exhibitions: Dubai, Curaçao, Qatar, Jordan, Britain, France. Group exhibitions: Dubai, Qatar, South Africa, Britain, France.

Buyers and special commissions: The Jordanian Royal Family and Tourist Office, the Bank of America, Barclays Bank, Guildford Law College and private collectors in Europe, North America, the Middle East, Australia and New Zealand.

Founder and first president of the Art Society of Dubai (now DIAC the Dubai International Art Centre). She has designed greeting cards and prints and has given courses and lectures in various countries.

A propos de Mary Jose

Mary Jose est une artiste britannique qui vit et travaille dans le sud de la France. Elle a développé une véritable passion pour l’art après avoir eu la chance, quand elle vivait à Singapour dans les années soixante-dix, d’étudier avec le Maître Chen Wen Hsi la peinture chinoise, au pinceau et à l’encre. Elle a quitté l’Extrême Orient avec une envie intense de continuer à peindre et ce style oriental a vite évolué en aquarelle figurative de style occidental pour exprimer sa réponse à ses séjours successifs dans huit autres pays.

Or ascendant 100 x 100 cm

Contre-courants IV 30 x 30 cm.

Ce n’est que lorsque elle et son mari s’installent en France dans les Pyrénées Orientales qu’elle satisfait un désir de longue date de passer à la peinture à l’huile.

Sans aucune décision consciente de sa part, elle a découvert qu’elle était en train de faire de la peinture abstraite, en grand format.  Plus récemment, l’expérience de la peinture à l’huile a initié dans ses aquarelles une énergie nouvelle liée à l’abstraction.

Aujourd’hui, toutes ces influences s’expriment dans les aquarelles comme dans les huiles : la philosophie de la peinture chinoise, l’effet révélateur de la lumière, l’harmonie de la nature, les couches superposées qui compose nos vies et les liens entre chaque élément de cette vie.

Expositions individuelles: Dubaï, Curaçao, Qatar, Jordanie, Angleterre, France.

Expositions en groupe: Dubaï, Qatar, Afrique du Sud, Angleterre, France.

Acheteurs et commandes spéciales :  La Famille Royale et le Ministère du Tourisme de Jordanie, la Banque d’Amérique, la Banque Barclays, le Collège de la Loi de Guildford, Angleterre, et des collectionneurs privés en Europe, en Amérique du Nord, au Moyen Orient, en Australie et en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Fondatrice et première présidente de l’Association d’Art de Dubaï (actuellement DIAC – Dubai International Art Centre).  Elle a fait des dessins pour cartes de vœux et estampes, et elle a animé des stages et donné des conférences dans plusieurs pays.